How and where is the voting data stored?
Voting data is added directly to the PowerPoint file as hidden tags. It is also backed up to a REC file.
PowerPoint course file:
As you close each vote the data is added to the PowerPoint file. If you have auto save switched on in the CLiKAPAD menu, the presentation will get saved after every vote, so your data is safely stored. Auto save is on by default but many of the trainers turned that off when the original course files for 2022 were very large and for some trainers caused PowerPoint to crash.
The video below explains more about auto save, including how to turn that off or on.
To get to the setting, go to Add-ins > CLiKAPAD > Help > Debug settings.

If the box is ticked the PowerPoint will not be saved after each vote. Unless you have a need to switch it off, such as your course presentations running slowly or crashing, it is very strongly advised that this option remains unticked as shown above.
No matter whether you have auto save switched on or off, you should regularly save your course file throughout the coaching session. It is recommended to save at every break and definitely at the end of the course, prior to running the data export.
Data Back up - REC file
The second place that the data is saved is to a REC file designed as an emergency back up. This is a simple text version of the data which can be imported if data is lost. The REC file is generated automatically each time you close a vote. If there is already a REC file in the course folder, the data will be appended there. If not a fresh REC file will be created. It is always preferable to have a fresh REC for every time that you run a course, so it is best to ensure that at the start of every course, you rename or delete any REC files relating to that course. Never delete a REC unless you are sure that your report has been submitted to WJA and accepted.
The REC includes only the voting data per keypad per vote. It does not store any trainee information, so you will also need to ensure that you have your ppvote Participant list file safely stored until you have completed your post-course admin.
This article explains more about how to use a REC file. I've lost my data, can I retrieve it?